Cantos de España (Chants d\'Espagne) - Clarinet Quartet

Cantos de España (Chants d'Espagne) - Clarinet Quartet

Also Available DigitallyDigital Sheet Music
Printed set (Score & Parts)

1. Preludio (Asturias) 3. Bajo la palmera 5. Seguidillas

3 Bb Clarinets
Bb Bass Clarinet

Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) is a leading composer of modern Spanish nationalism, known for his work influenced by Spanish folk music, and also as a great pianist.
"Cantos de Espana Op.232" is a piano suite of five songs: Preludio, Orientale, Bajo la Palmera, Cordoba, and Seguidillas. This gorgeous Spanish dance music features gracefulness and a Spanish atmosphere. This clarinet quartet arranges the following three movements.

1. Preludio (Asturias)
G minor, 3/4 beat. Asturias is a region in northern part of Spain, with long coastlines and rugged inland mountains, blessed with forests, valleys and meadows. This is characterized by a guitar-like playing in A-B-A style. Good tonguing skill is required; maintain a quiet atmosphere.

3. Bajo la Palmera
Eb major, 2/4 beat. A bright and calm music with a tropical feeling. The melody and its inner voices require careful control of high pitches. It is best to play with a relaxed phrase feeling.

5. Seguidillas
F# major (Gb major), 3/4 time beat. Seguidillas is a three-beat Spanish folk dance known from Bizet's opera "Carmen". Play the right rhythm and be careful not to lose liveliness even in technically difficult sections.

Commissioned by the clarinet quartet of Rokkakubashi Symphonic Band and premiered at the 33rd Kanagawa Ensemble Contest in December, 2009.