From The Forest of Saariselkä

From The Forest of Saariselkä

  • Composer: Takahashi, Hiroki
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 7:33
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A056S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1 (doubling Piccolo)
Flute 2
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
String Bass (optional)

Timpani & Cymbal
[Percussion 1] Suspended Cymbal, Snare Drum, Triangle
[Percussion 2] Bass Drum, Crash Cymbals, Low Tom
[Percussion 3] Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Crashed Cymbals, Tambourine

Commissioned by the Japan Air Self-Defense Force Chubu Band, Saariselkä is a village in a mountainous area of northern Finland, famous for its northern lights (aurora). This tone poem captures the romantic beauty of a nearby forest.

The beginning depicts an intense cold world. A beautiful horn melody, woodwind solos and sparkling glockenspiel arpeggios render a vivid impression. A quick tutti climax introduces fast action underscoring the image of the frigid weather as well as the effects of a severe blizzard and violent wind. As the musical drive intensifies, a resounding brass fanfare shifts the pace to the middle section.

A lush, romantic interlude reveals the grandeur of the northern lights floating in the tranquil sky. The alluring melody suggests the haunting beauty of Sibelius'Finlandia. Then enters a rollicking 6/8 recapitulation that ultimately combines all of the central themes into a grand tutti conclusion.

(Hiroki Takahashi)

World Parts Download