Moonlight Dragon A Postcard from Hong Kong

Moonlight Dragon
A Postcard from Hong Kong

  • Composer: Ito, Yasuhide
  • Grade: 3
  • Duration: 7:00
  • Genre: Concert & Festival
  • Publisher: Ito Music
  • Item No: NAS-BT324
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe (optional div.)
Bassoon (optional div.)
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass

Timpani, 2 Tom-toms
[Percussion] Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Crash Cymbals, 2 Suspended Cymbal, Tam-tam, Vibraslap, Ratchet, Flexatone
[Mallets] Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Vibraphone
Some years after graduating college, the composer received a postcard from a high school classmate who visited the port of Hong Kong during his world travels. He wrote that the city of Hong Kong is chaotic yet full of life and spirit. This reminded him of a quote, "Ma vie etait un festin" (My life had been a feast - "A Season in Hell" by French writer Arthur Rimbaud). Thereafter, the composer's impression of Hong Kong is "a city of festivals".

This composition depicts his first impression and the city's vitality. This work was commissioned by the Hong Kong Band Director's Association. It was premiered on September 14th, 2012 by the Hong Kong Band Directors Wind Orchestra under the baton of Ito himself at the "HKBDWO with Ito & HK Composers Concert".