Spring Lane

Spring Lane

  • Composer: Hirose, Hayato
  • Grade: 2
  • Duration: 3:30
  • Genre: Lyrical
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: COMS-85057S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
1st Bb Clarinet
2nd Bb Clarinet
Bass Clarinet (optional)
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2 (optional)
Bb Tenor Saxophone (optional)
Eb Baritone Saxophone (optional)

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
F Horn
Trombone 1
Trombone 2 (optional)
String Bass (optional)

Timpani (optional)
Triangle, Suspended Cymbal
Glockenspiel (or Xylophone, Vibraphone)

Spring Lane was originally commissioned in April 2008 by, and for the "Vive! Saxophone Quartet". In 2012, it was arranged as entry level smaller ensemble literature for the Bravo/Brain Music Young band Series.

The "lane" is a quiet narrow street observed while the composer was attending university in Boston. The music depicts gentle sunlight, green shoots and blossoms and the natural energy of spring.

The work is in simple ternary form, A-B-A-Coda. As the main melody develops, it changes in tonality and form. It resolves with a quiet chorale ending.

World Parts Download