Capriccio - Flute Quartet

Capriccio - Flute Quartet

  • Composer: Park, Soo-Hyun
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 5:00
  • Genre: Flute Quartet
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ENMS-84486
  • Inventory status: In stock

Also Available DigitallyDigital Sheet Music
Printed set (Score & Parts)
4 Flutes

Composed in 2016 by the commission of the Rencontre Flute Quartet and premiered by the quartet in January 2017. Ayako Maeda, flautist with Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra suggested a trio version in July 2017. The trio was completed in August and premiered by her and Flute Duo "aube" in September.

Capriccio means "capricious" in Italian. For this commission, the only request was a time limitation (around five minutes), so I adopted melodies and subjects that came up.

The piece is somewhat manic and progresses back and forth between the two parts of capricious Allegretto and Lento.

(Park, Soo-Hyun)