Susato Dances - Flexible Quintet

Susato Dances - Flexible Quintet

Printed set (Score & Parts)

I. La mourisque II. Gaillarde III. Ronde IV. Basse Dance

[Part 1] Flute, Oboe, Eb Clarinet, Eb Alto Saxophone, Bb Clarinet, Bb Soprano Saxophone, Bb Trumpet
[Part 2] Eb Clarinet, Eb Alto Saxophone, Bb Clarinet, Bb Trumpet
[Part 3] Bb Clarinet, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Eb Alto Clarinet, Eb Alto Saxophone, F Horn, Trombone, Euphonium
[Part 4] Eb Alto Clarinet, Bb Bass Clarinet, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Trombone, Euphonium
[Part 5] Eb Alto Clarinet, Eb Baritone Saxophone, Bb Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba

Susato Dances consists of four songs selected from "Dances" published by Tielman Susato (1500-1562) in the third volume of 1551. The four movements include "La mourisque", "Gaillarde", "Ronde", and "Basse Dance".

This is arranged with trumpet playing up to F in a brass quintet formation. It can be performed without tuba, bass line substituted by trombone and euphonium. Please arrange the ideal instrumentation for your group and enjoy the flavor of Renaissance masterpieces. Ideal is a relaxed performance focusing on the characteristics of each dance.

(Masahiro Shiraiwa)