Antique Introduction and Toccata - Clarinet Quartet

Antique Introduction and Toccata - Clarinet Quartet

  • Composer: Abe, Yuichi
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 4:50
  • Genre: Clarinet Quartet
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ENMS-84366
  • Inventory status: In stock

Also Available DigitallyDigital Sheet Music
Printed set (Score & Parts)
4 Bb Clarinets

When we get stuck in something, we often want to or are forced to return to the origin. It is quite meaningful to follow the trajectory that I have taken thus far to move on, and I am surprised that there are new discoveries in the work through my review. When you look back at the past from different perspectives, things that we could not feel then become clear or we are not attracted by something attractive once. Human senses are truly mysterious.

What should I write this time? What should I create? To break away from my stereotyped creativity, I returned to classical music. While composing, I always felt intimidation by Bach or other great composers. While regretting, "What have I done," I once again admired their excellence.

The atonal, "collapsed, broken" part is the only resistance I could make in 2012, "What did the great fail to achieve? I thought and included it. Or is it my image that comes from the origin of baroque "distortion"?

Although it is technically challenging such as continuous arpeggios at tempo 136, I believe playing such difficult phrases effortlessly is the elegance of Baroque music.

(Yuichi Abe)