Mozartesque March

Mozartesque March

  • Composer: Takahashi, Hiroki
  • Grade: 3
  • Duration: 3:40
  • Genre: Marches & Gallops
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: COMS-85114S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1
Flute 2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
String Bass

[Percussion 1] Snare Drum
[Percussion 2] Bass Drum, Triangle
[Percussion 3] Crash Cymbals, Triangle, Tambourine
[Percussion 4] Glockenspiel, Xylophone

2006 was known as the Mozart Year, the 250th birthday of the musical genius. It was a great inspiration for this composition. A few years back I wrote the "English Folksong March", a required piece for the 2003 All Japan Band Competition. That march has many familiar melodies based on famous English folksongs. This too was an inspiration for this Mozartesque March.
The work is a sort of musical joke. I used the melody from Symphony No. 40 for the first stanza. It is arranged in Radetzky March style. The trio section is based on Serenade No. 13 for strings in G Major. It also includes motifs from other famous Mozart compositions including The Marriage of Figaro and various piano sonatas.

(Hiroki Takahashi)

World Parts Download