La danse du phenix impression de Kyoto

La danse du phenix impression de Kyoto

  • Composer: Mashima, Toshio
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 10:00
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: BOMS-M02S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe 1
Oboe 2
English Horn (optional)
Bassoon 1
Bassoon 2
Contrabassoon (optional)
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Bb Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
Bb Soprano Saxophone
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone
Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1
F Horn 2
F Horn 3
F Horn 4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Bass Trombone
String Bass


[Percussion 1] Claves, Snare, Triangle, Bamboo Wind-chime
[Percussion 2] Sleigh Bells, Bongos, Iron Block, Wood Block
[Percussion 3] Tam-tam, Suspended Cymbal, 2 Gongs
[Percussion 4] Cymbals, Bass Drum
[Percussion 5] Xylophone, Vibraphone
[Percussion 6] Glockenspiel

The inspiration of "La danse du Phenix" is Kyoto, one of the most beautiful cities in Japan. Kyoto was the capital city for 1,000 of its 1,200-year history, and is still the cultural center of the country.

You will find the stone garden of Ryoan-ji Temple in the middle of the work, with the sound of the wind that makes a bamboo grove tremble. The grand climax expresses the brilliance of the Kinkaku-ji Temple (Golden Pavillion) and the phénix flapping its guilded wings into the heavens.