A Jupiter Fantasy from the Planets Trilogy for Band

A Jupiter Fantasy from the Planets
Trilogy for Band

  • Composer: Ito, Yasuhide
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 6:00
  • Genre: Concert & Festival
  • Publisher: Ito Music
  • Item No: NAS-BM007
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1/2
Oboe 1/2
English Horn
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Bb Soprano Saxophone
Eb Alto Saxophone 1/2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Cornet 1/2
Bb Cornet 3
Bb Trumpet 1/2
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1/2
Trombone 3
Violoncello (optional)
String Bass

Glockenspiel, Xylophone

[Percussion] Snare Drum, Tom-tom (or Drum Set), Suspended Cymbal, Hi-Hat Cymbal, Triangle, Wind Chime, Claves
Utilizing the melody from the central section of Holst's "The Planets: IV. Jupiter", I have exclusively written a chorus piece for an event in 1999. Based on that particular piece, a duo for piano and flute was written the same year. Later, more than a total of 30 renditions were written based on the original piece.
This version of "Jupiter", arranged for the large wind band, is one of three parts of a three-part composition, which includes "Mars" and "Earth", composed in 2003 and 2005 respectively.
The trumpet ad lib kicks off the central section, in which various other instruments could repeatedly perform the section, and ad lib is most welcome too.