Toccata and Fugue

Toccata and Fugue

Set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1/2
Oboe 1/2
Bassoon 1
Bassoon 2 (doubling Contra Bassoon)
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Bb Contrabass Clarinet
Bb Soprano Saxophone
Eb Alto Saxophone
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass (div.)


[Percussion] Bass Drum, Crash Cymbals, Suspended Cymbal, Triangle
Vibraphone, Marimba

Bach's most famous organ toccata reflects the exuberance and freedom of his younger years. While it is often transcribed, here Morita seeks to "maximize the technique and function of the modern wind ensemble." Rather than re-edit existing interpretations, he consults the original score to rediscover its romance and color, deliberately orchestrating for depth and resonance suitable for a pipe organ. Morita is temporally faithful in his notation, but advises the conductor to respond to the free form nature of the toccata, elongating and lingering as needed. He also advises additional study of the performance style, and to establish the sonority and focus of the supporting ensemble as it stabilizes the more fluid and improvised melodoes.

World Parts Download

Related Products