La suite excentrique

La suite excentrique

  • Composer: Amano, Masamicz
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 11:45
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A023S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1/2
English Horn
Bassoon 1/2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 2 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 3 (div.)
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Bb Contrabass Clarinet
Bb Soprano Saxophone
b Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (div.)
Bass Tuba
String Bass

[Percussion 1] Snare Drum, 4 Toms
[Percussion 2] Shell Tree, Cymbals, Tam-tam
[Percussion 3] Tam-tam
[Percussion 4] Carillon, Suspended Cymbal, Cymbals, Triangle, Vibraphone
[Percussion 5] Wind Chime, Marimba
[Percussion 6] Glockenspiel, Vibraphone, Chime, Xylophone

Harp 1/2

This work is comprised of four movements. They can be performed collectively or individually. Tempos and expressiveness are clearly affected by how the conductor selects and/or prioritizes certain movements.

The 1st Movement begins as muted trumpets introduce a foggy, hazy view. The atmosphere of a whispering forest follows, concluding with a sudden, grandiose pause.

The Valse in the 2nd Movement is not bright or saucy like a Viennese waltz, but more Slavic [since I composed the last three movements in Warsaw, it inevitably became so] and somehow ethereal. After the trio, a melancholic waltz drifts towards an interrupted conclusion.

The 3rd Movement expresses abyssal solitude. The stillness suddenly quiets with the tolling of a bell.

The 4th Movement is framed with violent tutti in odd meter, like bouzouki music. The fierceness persists, warms up, then suddenly finishes with unison Major 7th bell tones.

A prominent structural element of the suite is "abruptness", particularly in the conclusion of each movement. This aspect can be treated assertively.

(Masamicz Amano)

World Parts Download