Concerto Grosso for Saxophone Quartet & Band

Concerto Grosso for Saxophone Quartet & Band

  • Composer: Amano, Masamicz
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 7:10
  • Genre: Solo/Ensemble with Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: COMS-85027
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
[Solo Sax section]
Bb Soprano Saxophone
Eb Alto Saxophone
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Piccolo (doubling Flute 3)
Flute 1 (div.)
Flute 2 (div.)
Bassoon 1/2
Eb Clarinet
1st Bb Clarinet 1 (div.)
2nd Bb Clarinet 2 (div.)
3rd Bb Clarinet 3 (div.)
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Bb Contrabass Clarinet

Eb Alto Saxophone 1/2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Trumpet 2/3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1/2
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (div.)
String Bass
Electric Bass Guitar


Drum Set
Bass Drum
Crash Cymbal
Suspended Cymbal
Tam-tam, Cowbell

Commissioned by Kyo-En Executive Committee. Premiered at Kyo-En V in 2003, Kawagoe Sohwa Wind Ensemble, Masato Sato, conductor.

I know the conductor and band inside out, so I enjoyed composing this work very much, thinking about their personalities. The piece features the sax section, and the performance style is characterized by interplay between a vibrant jazz quartet and a solid pops windensemble.

Now that the work is published, I hope you add it to your concert repertoire.

(Masamicz Amano)