Light of Hope Concert March and Processional

Light of Hope
Concert March and Processional

  • Composer: Takahashi, Hiroki
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 4:30
  • Genre: March
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: MRMS-86016
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
Eb Clarinet(optional)
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Bb Bass Clarinet (optional)
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
String Bass (optional)


[Percussion 1] Snare Drum, Bass Drum
[Percussion 2] Crash Cymbals
[Percussion 3(optional)] Suspended Cymbal, Wind Chime, Triangle (optional)
[Percussion 4] Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Chimes

Light of Hope is dedicated to those affected by the 2011 Northeast Japan Earthquake and Tsunami. Takahashi first thought of composing a requiem but decided instead on a message of encouragement with hopes of a bright future. Thereafter, the idea was changed to a bright style march in 6/8 time.

After a radiant introduction and a delightful development section, a percussion feature brings the music to soothing yet dramatic cantabile trio section in 4/4 time. A return of the 6/8 percussion soli foreshadows the recapitulation. A heroic melodic line maintains forward momentum throughout the piece. Its core message of a better tomorrow and triumph over difficulties makes this concert march very popular repertoire in Japan.

(Hiroki Takahashi)