Wind from East - Saxophone Quartet

Wind from East - Saxophone Quartet

  • Composer: Orita, Eiko
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 10:30
  • Genre: Saxophone Quartet
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ENMS-84033
  • Inventory status: In stock

Also Available DigitallyDigital Sheet Music
Printed set (Score & Parts)

I. As I walked out II. Zappy III. Greensleeves IV. Old Dance

Wind from East was written in 1996 for a recital of the Noyer Saxophone Ensemble.
The first tune "As I walked out" is an old English folk song. The second song "Zappy" is a 16th century Renaissance dance. The third selection, "Greensleeves," is an 18th-century English folk song. The final song is from the French composer Gervais's "Dances for Four Voices".
All are from different regions and times, but why do they feel nostalgic and familiar despite modes and tunes that did not originate in Japan? This always makes me wonder. That's why I named it "Wind from East" (it came from a completely different place...).

(Eiko Orita)