Sunday Market

Sunday Market

  • Composer: Takahashi, Shin'ya
  • Grade: 3.5
  • Duration: 7:20
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A071S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1 (optional Piccolo)
Flute 2
Bb Clarinet 1 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 2 (div.)
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
F Horn 1
F Horn 2
Trombone 1
Trombone 2

[Percussion 1] Glockenspiel, Xylophone
[Percussion 2] Suspended Cymbal, Snare Drum, Hi-Hat Cymbal
[Percussion 3] Suspended Cymbals, Tambourine, Wind Chime, Triangle, Chime

A band director from a small junior high school once approached me, asking for a piece suitable for limited instrumentation. I have written for other small bands, but I was a little shocked by this request. Though small in number, all woodwind sections were represented, including Clarinets, Flutes, and Saxes. Brass, though, included just one Trumpet and one Horn. With percussion, the band totaled 16 members. Not only small, but very unusual.

I was puzzled by this situation of no Trombones or Euphoniums. Having been to many rehearsals and judging contests all over the country, I was quite aware of the problems many schools are facing. A continuing student population decline was creating irregular instrumentation issues all over Japan. Wanting to do something about it, I accepted this challenge. My goal was to provide a unique, custom-made quality composition for that band.

"Energetic and exciting music" was requested by the director and the students. The title "Sunday Market" depicts an entire Sunday at a vibrant European market place. The cadenza-like flute solo in the introduction was a request from the director: "We have a very talented flute player. Could you write a solo featuring her talent?"

The composition was completed in the spring of 2006. It premiered at Band Competition that summer with the addition of another band member to the original 16. Afterwards, I returned to the score, and brass parts were added to offer accessibility to more ensembles. Also, the music has good imagery. The flute solo reveals a beautiful morning dawn. The market's morning, afternoon, and evening are represented by freely written three part sections of fast-slow-fast.

(Shin'ya Takahashi)

World Parts Download