Finale, Symphony No. 4 Op.36

Finale, Symphony No. 4 Op.36

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Solo Flute (div.)
Flute 1/2
Oboe 1/2
Bassoon 1/2
Eb Clarinet
Solo Bb Clarinet 1/2
Bb Clarinet 1 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 2 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 3 (div.)
Bb Bass Clarinet (div.)
Bb Soprano Saxophone
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1/2
Bb Cornet 1/2
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1/2
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass

Bass Drum, Crush Cymbal
Marimba, Xylophone

Symphony No.4 Op. 36 by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) was begun in 1876 and completed during an 1877 sojourn at the Hotel Londra Palace, on the lagoon in Venice. It premiered in Moscow on February 22, 1878, led by Nikolai Rubinstein. As a renowned composer, Tchaikovsky had many famous works. Amongst those are his renowned symphonies No. 4, No. 5 and No. 6.
In this excerpt from a letter to Nadezhda von Meck, Tchaikovsky describes the program of Symphony No. 4:
"If you find no cause for joy within yourself, look for it in others. Go to the people... a picture of festive popular rejoicing. Scarcely has one forgotten oneself and been carried away at the sight of someone else's pleasure than indefatigable Fate returns again and reminds you of yourself. But others pay no heed to you. They do not even turn around, they do not glance at you and do not notice how lonely and gloomy you are... Reproach yourself and do not say that all the world is sad. Simple but strong joys do exist. Rejoice in other's rejoicing. To live is still bearable."

The symphony is composed of 4 movements:
Movt. 1: Andante sostenuto - Moderato con anima (F minor)
Movt. 2: Andantino in modo di Canzone (Bb minor)
Movt. 3: Scherzo: Pizzicato ostinato. Allegro (F major)
Movt. 4: Finale: Allegro con fuoco (F major) [Source for this arrangement]

This arrangement was created for Kawagoe Sohwa Wind Ensemble in 2013. It was performed on May 19th, 2013 for their main annual concert.

(Masato Sato)

World Parts Download