Journey to the West

Journey to the West

  • Composer: Hirose, Hayato
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 6:15
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A080S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe 1/2
Bassoon 1/2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
Euphonium (div.)
String Bass


[Percussion 1] Vibraphone, 3 Toms, Snare Drum, Wind Chime, Tam-tam
[Percussion 2] Suspended Cymbal, Triangle, Tambourine, Crash Cymbals
[Percussion 3] Bass Drum, Whip, Tambourine
[Percussion 4] Glockenspiel, Marimba, Xylophone

This work was commissioned in 2016 by the NPO Suisogaku Shinko Network. As the title suggests, "The Journey to the West" is the theme. The work depicts specific scenes from the story. It begins with where the Monkey King (Sun Wukong) is born from a rock on a floating volcanic island, and how he acquires various kinds of actions and skills, to how he meets Tripitaka (Tang Sanzang) after being confined in the mountains. On the way to India, they overcome the the Huang Emperor's Canon of Eighty-One Difficult Issues (Nan Jing) and reflect on how they have achieved the purpose of the trip.

World Parts Download