The Knight of the Sky Fantasy for Wind Ensemble

The Knight of the Sky
Fantasy for Wind Ensemble

  • Composer: Kataoka, Hiroaki
  • Grade: 3
  • Duration: 7:30
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A069S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute (div.)
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
F Horn 1
F Horn 2
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Tuba (div.)
String Bass

[Percussion 1] Rain Stick and Bird Call, Timpani, Triangle
[Percussion 2] Rain Stick and Bird Call, Wind Chime, Snare Drum, Suspended Cymbal, Bass Drum
[Percussion 3] Vibraphone, Bass Drum, Tam-tam, Crash Cymbals
[Percussion 4] Marimba, Suspended Cymbal, Crash Cymbals, Tambourine, Sleigh Bells, Whip
[Percussion 5] Glockenspiel, Chime, Tam-tam

Chorus (optional)

Commissioned in March 2013 and premiered by Chikuho Junior High School Band, Takashi Yamano, Director.
Written for small band, all brass are voiced in two-part. Oboe and String Bass are optional. Flute and Tuba have div. but if only one player is available, play the upper part. The Alto Sax solo should be played with lovely, beautiful tone.
The piece develops from a melody introduced at the beginning as a motif. Its successful evolution depends upon the mechanical effects of note shaping and phrasing. Using appropriate variety will greatly enhance the musical expression and meaning.
To show various colorful timbres and produce fuller sounds, percussion was added where necessary. This calls for five percussionists, but I have considered the grade and made it accessible at all levels.
Have fun portraying the fantasy of the Knight of the Sky.
I wish for this work to be enjoyed by musicians of all ages.

(Hiroaki Kataoka)

World Parts Download