Brilliante March (score)

Brilliante March (score)

  • Composer: Takahashi, Shin'ya
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 4:00
  • Genre: March
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: MRMS-86015A
  • Inventory status: In stock

Flute 1
Flute 2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1 (optional div.)
Bb Trumpet 2 (optional div.)
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
String Bass

Snare Drum
Bass Drum
Crash Cymbals

This concert march was completed and premiered in December 2009 for the 50th anniversary of the Hiroshima Prefecture All Japan Band Association. The title "Brillante" was selected by the association's board from other proposed options including "Brightness", "Light", "Future", "Dream", "Hope", and "Joy", all reflected in the style of this piece.

The form of this work is standard Japanese concert march: 1st stanza - 2nd stanza - trio - recapitulation. Melody and phrases from the first half reappear toward the end as counter-melody and interlude which give the work a sense of unity.

On the other hand, this work employs various musical ideas. During the recapitulation, an eight bar phrase transition appears to provide momentum towards the coda, for greater emphasis. The final trumpet notes have optional divisi for a more "Brilliante" ending.

(Shin'ya Takahashi)

World Parts Download

Related Products