Pompeii (score)

Pompeii (score)

  • Composer: Yagisawa, Satoshi
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 10:00
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A050A
  • Inventory status: In stock

Flute 1
Flute 2
Flute 3
Oboe 1
Oboe 2
Bassoon 1/2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Clarinet 3
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Contra-alto Clarinet
Bb Contrabass Clarinet
Bb Soprano Saxophone
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
Bb Flugelhorn
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
Euphonium 1
Euphonium 2
Tuba 1/2
String Bass


[Percussion 1] Glockenspiel, Chimes, Marimba, Vibraphone
[Percussion 2] Triangle (high), Wind Chimes, Tambourine, Glockenspiel, Bongo, Suspended Cymbal, Chimes, Finger Cymbal, Gong
[Percussion 3] Cymbals, Bongo, Wind Chimes, 4 Tom-toms, Snare Drum, Hi-hat Cymbal, Vibraphone
[Percussion 4] Suspended Cymbal, Gong
[Percussion 5] Bass Drum, 3 Triangles

Pompeii - the Ruins Know Its Long and Magnificent History was commissioned for and dedicated to Hofstra University Symphonic Band and Dr. Peter Loel Boonshaft in Long Island, New York.
Through Bravo Music I received a warm note from Dr. Boonshaft describing his love and passion for my compositions such as Machu Picchu: City in the Sky - The Mystery of the Hidden Sun Temple and Nazca Lines - The Universe Drawn on the Earth and how he wished to commission a dramatic and emotional sequel in my world heritage composition series.
I visited Pompeii in southern Italy in the summer of 2010. I was amazed to see a developed civilized city from more than 2000 years ago. This work is musically and dramatically comprised of various motives ? "The Prosperity of the City. The Magnificent Mt. Vesuvius," "The Sight of the Bustling Town," "Calm Suburbs and Citizens Living in Peace," "An Earthquake Attacks the City, February 5th, 62 A.D.," "The Eruption of Mt. Vesuvius on August 24th, 79 A.D.," "The Tragedy of Pompeii," "Pompeii Today," and "The Awe-Inspiring Ruins tell of this Ancient Civilization." I have composed this work to describe history through music. I could not be happier from the bottom of my heart that Hofstra University Symphonic Band and Dr. Peter Loel Boonshaft world-premier this composition.

(Satoshi Yagisawa)

World Parts Download

Related Products