Boreas (score)

Boreas (score)

  • Composer: Fukushima, Hirokazu
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 9:00
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A115A
  • Inventory status: In stock

Flute 1
Flute 2 (div.)
Oboe 1/2
English Horn
Bassoon 1/2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 3 (div.)
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Bb Contrabass Clarinet
Bb Soprano Saxophone
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2 (div.)
Bb Trumpet 3 (div.) (doubling Bb Flugelhorn)
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2 (div.)
Trombone 3
Euphonium (div.)
Euphonium TC (div.)
String Bass


[Percussion 1] Snare Drum, Hi-hat Cymbal, Suspended Cymbal
[Percussion 2] Bass Drum
[Percussion 3] 4 Toms, Suspended Cymbal
[Percussion 4] Tam-tam, Triangle, Tambourine, 2 Wood Blocks, Glockenspiel
[Percussion 5] Crash Cymbals, Suspended Cymbal, Tam-tam, Tambourine, Vibraphone, Marimba
[Percussion 6] Tam-tam, Wind Chime, Xylophone, Marimba

Boreas was written in February, 2019 commissioned by Gral Wind Orchestra
The commission asked for a strong forte introduction at a quick pace. A simple, yet insistent G-Bbmotive continues as a theme throughout the piece. Other themes and harmonies appear and wane, and the work concludes with a profound restatement of that ever-present minor third motive.
"Boreas" is the Greek god of the cold north wind and the bringer of winter. Though the title was determined after completion, it suitably matches the image of this work.

(Hirokazu Fukushima)

World Parts Download

Related Products