Weather Report

Weather Report

  • Composer: Takahashi, Shin'ya
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 6:30
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A045S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)
Flute 1
Flute 2
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bass Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
F Horn 1
F Horn 2
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
String Bass

[Percussion 1] Glockenspiel
[Percussion 2] Snare Drum, Bass Drum
[Percussion 3] Crash Cymbals, Suspended Cymbal, Tam-tam, Wind Chime

Weather Report was commissioned by Marunouchi Junior High School in Nagano in 2010 and premiered at the Nagano State Band Contest.

One of my new thoughts for composition has been to ask students for titles, images and ideas. For this commission I collected many interesting concepts, and quite a few had to do with weather. So, I constructed the piece based on weather news and report. After the main weather news presentation, the meteorologist presents the daily weather forecast:
"The morning will be clear and beautiful becoming cloudy at noon and eventually shower later. Rain intensity will increase turning into a thunderstorm. Towards the evening, rain and storm will leave, and there will be a beautiful sunset. That's the weather for today."

(Shin'ya Takahashi)

World Parts Download