The Times

The Times

  • Composer: Takahashi, Hiroki
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 7:30
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A048S
  • Inventory status: In stock

Printed set (Score & Parts)

I. Present II. Past III. Future

Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bass Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
String Bass (optional)

Timpani (optional)
[Percussion 1] Snare Drum, Triangle, Bass Drum, Tambourine
[Percussion 2] Crash Cymbals Suspended Cymbals, Tambourine
[Percussion 3] Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Wood Block, Triangle, Tambourine

I arranged my euphonium-tuba quintet "The Times" for wind ensemble. It consists of three movements, Present, Past, Future.

The first movement, Present, is a short overture. Past is a ballad in sepia as one reflects on what has been. Finally, Future represents anxious anticipation of what will be. I hope performers and audience might also blend meaningful events of their lives and loves along with the music.

Please note and emphasize time with Present, expressiveness for Past, and technique with Future. I intended for this piece to be fun to perform and hear in a variety of situations. Please do enjoy it.

(Hiroki Takahashi)

World Parts Download